top of page

Construction chic or Construction chick


I met with a group of women today. So what, you might ask. The group was started by a lawyer and a financial advisor. Again is that a big deal? It was for me.

You see, this was a group of women who have a passion for my industry. They, in some way, all have ties to the construction and building arena. Not just engineers, because there is a group for those women. Not solely project managers, because they too have a clan. Not from only the mining industry because those women have a network that already exists. These women were from development and real estate, construction law and management, safety and trades. The key speaker was a wonderful and inspiring young woman who was told at a young age "chicks don't do that". I watched as she told her story and marvelled that in 25 years (the length of my experience so far), not much has changed.

This inspiring lady talked about the many ways in which she had been told she " can't ". And how she refused to listen to those people and went on to complete her apprenticeship. She now runs a successful business that employs female plumbers - Plumbettes. A remarkable journey. One she should be justifiably proud of. And she is supporting other young women by offering them an environment of support.

I was sitting there listening and thinking about how long ago I started. And how proud - which I know might sound weird - but yes, proud, of this incredible construction chick... Making construction chic for other young women. She made me feel like I haven't done enough. I thank her for that, not because I haven't done enough, but because it has been a while since I took the time to reflect on my journey in the industry AS A WOMAN.

I know what I have accomplished and am very pleased with what I have achieved. But rarely do I think of my journey from the perspective of my gender. I don't get caught up in the us vs them. I am me and I achieve what I want. It is however a good exercise to reflect on the examples we set for other women, particularly younger women just starting out, in showing them what is possible.

It is what influences my writing in my books. It is why I love mentoring and coaching. It is why I undertake public speaking. I want women who have never been given the opportunity to think outside of the "traditional roles", who may have never considered alternative industries, to know that the non-traditional roles can be exciting and challenging and above all fun!

And it felt like home today, surrounded by other women who clearly understood this passion and excitement. Other construction "chicks" who were not too concerned with the "chic". Because the industry is dirty and hard and has some long hours and peculiar struggles associated with it.

As we heard today you are going to have a much harder time becoming a great plumber if you have a spider phobia - think under floor and in roofs and all spaces dark and crawly. It's not such a big deal if you work in an office environment.

Have you ever had a job description that includes "must not scream at spiders"?

I want to thank the organisers, the sponsors and the speakers. I want to say cheers to the other attendees. I want to express my appreciation in finding my clan, my people, my kindred in construction today. And how much I look forward to more gatherings of construction chic construction chicks!

If you want to come along to the next meeting then please keep checking this page for an announcement closer to the scheduled date (currently set for 27 Nov) so that you can explore for yourself this new venture that is stretching it legs and stomping its construction boots!

~The Words of Bek


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page